Democrats Hold Lebanon, Hanover House Seats

Lebanon — Democrats continued to hold onto their seats in the Lebanon-Hanover area, as they also sought to chip away at some GOP seats in the Haverhill area.

In the Grafton 12 House district representing Hanover and Lyme, Democrats were unopposed, meaning state Reps. Bernie Benn and Sharon Nordgren, of Hanover, and Beatriz Pastor-Bodmer, of Lyme, handily won re-election.

They were joined by newcomer Patricia Higgins, of Hanover, who replaced state Rep. David Pierce, the Etna Democrat who won election to the state Senate yesterday.

Similarly, in Lebanon, Democratic state Reps. Susan Almy, Laurie Harding and Andrew White all won re-election and were joined by former City Councilor George Sykes on the Democratic ticket. No Republicans were on the ballot.

Haverhill-Area Seats

In Haverhill, state Rep. Paul Ingbretson, R-Haverhill, was narrowly trailing newcomer Linda Lauer, D-Bath, in the Grafton 15 floterial district, which includes Haverhill, Piermont, Orford, Bath, Landaff, Easton, Benton and Warren. With five of eight precincts reporting, Lauer had 944 votes to 793 for Ingbretson.

Similarly, former state Rep. Susan Ford, D-Easton, was leading state Rep. Gregory Sorg, R-Easton, in the Grafton 3 district, which represents Orford, Piermont, Bath, Landaff, Easton, Benton and Warren. With five of seven districts in, Ford had 912 votes to 810 for Sorg.

And state Rep. Rick Ladd, R-Haverhill, won re-election in the Grafton 4 House district, which represents Haverhill. Ladd, a former school principal who sits on the House Education Committee, was unopposed on the ballot.

— Staff report