Hi 22° | Lo -1°

In Claremont, 32 Vie for 9 Charter Commission Seats

Claremont — Former and current city councilors, a former Claremont city manager and two current state representatives are among the 32 residents who signed up to run for one of nine seats on the recently established charter commission in the Jan. 21 election.

The creation of a commission, placed on the ballot by petition, was approved by a majority vote in the Nov. 5 city elections.

The candidates are: City Councilors Nick Koloski and Vic Bergeron and former councilors AJ Maranville, Thomas Burnham, Chris Irish, George Caccavaro, Donald Limoges, and Paul LaCasse; former city manager Robert Porter; School Board members Dave Putnam and Brian Rapp; state Reps Joe Osgood and Ray Gagnon; Cynthia Howard, who started the petition to establish the commission; and Bernie Folta, Gary Osgood, Rusty Fowler, David Messier, Patrick Howe, John Hamel, Ron Gilbert, Pamela Bergeron, Paul Bonneau, Richard Madigan, Brandon Stevens, Cynthia Densmore, James Miles, Dennis Francis, Walter White Jr., Chris Cristini, Emerson Cramer and Charles Cramer.

Hamel, Densmore and White were also candidates for city council on Nov. 5.

The commission is expected to complete its work in time for any recommended changes to be presented to voters in November 2014.