Cloudy
56°
Cloudy
Hi 75° | Lo 51°

Explaining The Penalty

Referee Jerome Boger explained in a pool report the penalty committed by Patriots defensive tackle Chris Jones that negated a missed Jets field goal in overtime. Nick Folk soon made a 42-yarder to win the game 30-27 Sunday.

Pool reporter Mike Reiss asked Boger: “Please explain the penalty that was called on No. 94 (Jones) on the field goal.”

Boger: “The call was that No. 94 on the defense pushed his teammate into the formation. That is a rule change for 2013 that a teammate cannot push a teammate into the opponents’ formation.”

Reiss: “Is it any type of push? Is it a two-handed push?”

Boger: “Any push. It could be with the body, not necessarily with the hand, but with the body into his teammate, into the formation. It’s any type of pushing action.”

Reiss: “Is there anything else to go over with this penalty?”

Boger: “No, the umpire’s flag went up almost instantaneously as he observed the action. We just enforced it as he called it.

Reiss: “And that’s a 15-yard penalty.”

Boger: “For unsportsmanlike conduct.”

— The Associated Press