Sen. Shaheen Urges Colby-Sawyer Graduates to Be Open, Listen

Published: 5/7/2018 10:49:11 AM
Modified: 5/7/2018 10:55:52 AM

New London – Colby-Sawyer College celebrated its 180th commencement on Saturday, granting degrees to about 265 undergraduates and marking the first graduation for its master of science in nursing program.

U.S. Sen. Jeanne Shaheen, D-N.H., received an honorary doctor of humane letters degree and spoke at the ceremony, urging students to stand up for a free press and the right to vote while also encouraging them to listen to others on the political spectrum.

“There is an increasing tendency among Americans to listen only to those we agree with — one casualty of this trend is that compromise has become a bad word. Boy, I see that in my job every day. Democrats and Republicans in Congress are hearing from and listening only to voices they agree with,” Shaheen said. “And, at times, our political supporters see any compromise as betrayal of principles. That’s a very dangerous trend.”

Shaheen noted that major legislative achievements such as the Civil Rights Act and the Clean Water Act were built on compromise and said, “And we need more, not less, compromise because it means people are working together to address our challenges.”

Colby-Sawyer also graduated its first cohort of graduate students in its Master of Science in Nursing program, which was developed in collaboration with Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center.

The New London-based college awarded the Susan Colgate Cleveland Medal for Distinguished Service to Peggy Stock, the first female president of the college who served from 1986 to 1995.

Colby-Sawyer graduates from the Upper Valley: Douglas John Avellino, Woodstock; Kiana Mary Blaine, Newport; Shannon Boule, Gaysville; Colleen Elizabeth Clausen, New London; Linda Dattilio, Windsor; Jane Worthen Eaton, Woodstock; John P. Flanigin, Brownsville; Meredith Leigh Fogg, White River Junction; Francis Lynn Gibbs-Osgood, Cornish; Laura Anne Goodrich, Lebanon; Kaytlynn Stacey Kenney, Newport; Indie Lynn LeClair, Etna; Erica Kate Leonard, Claremont; Mariana Marcano Rivas, New London; Christopher M. Peirce, Georges Mills; Hayley E. Perron, Lebanon; Paula F. Rugg, White River Junction; Marci Ann Thibodeau, Claremont; Lindsey M. Thompson, South Royalton;

Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2021 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy