Tree-cutting, solar zoning amendments pass in New London

Staff Report
Tuesday, March 12, 2019
New LondonTree-cutting, solar zoning amendments pass

NEW LONDON — Voters gave their blessing to two zoning amendments related to tree cutting within waterfront buffers and the installation of commercial solar operations and ground-mounted solar panels by 5-to-1 margins in Australian ballot voting on Tuesday.

John Cannon won a three-year seat on the Selectboard with 417 votes, defeating Vahan Sarkisian, 236 votes.

With 433 votes, Kimberly Bonin won a trustee seat on the Tracy Memorial Library, as did Nancy Mahar, with 400 votes. Andrew Schmidt, 241, fell short in the three-way race for two seats.

Gerald Coogan, John Raby and Michael O. Williams were elected to the Budget Committee.

Town Meeting will be held at 7 p.m. on Wednesday at the Kearsarge Learning Campus.