Town Meeting: Tunbridge chooses McPhetres for Selectboard seat

Published: 03-10-2023 11:07 PM

TUNBRIDGE — Voters at Tunbridge’s floor meeting on Tuesday approved all articles as warned, except they removed one social service organization from the list of appropriations.

The Vermont Family Network was denied its $250 request from the town, Assistant Town Clerk Bonnie McCrillis said by phone on Wednesday. The Williston, Vt.-based organization seeks to “empower and support all Vermont children, youth, and families, especially those with disabilities or special health needs,” according to the nonprofit’s website.

McCrillis directed questions about the reasoning for the rejected appropriation request to Town Clerk Mariah Cilley, who was not in the office on Wednesday.

Voters approved a general fund budget of $741,555, of which $450,240 is to be raised by taxes. At Town Meeting last year, voters approved a general fund budget of $638,000.

Voters also green-lighted a highway fund budget of $1.11 million, of which $969,244 would come from taxes. Last year, voters approved a highway budget of $1 million, according to Valley News reporting at the time.

From the floor, voters reelected Mike McPhetres to a three-year term on the Selectboard.

Elected officials

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

I-91 between Bradford and Fairlee closes following rockslide
NH medical examiner: Newport girl, 5, died of ‘natural’ cause
After he was falsely linked to a racist confrontation on TikTok, a NH doctor is now trying to rebuild his online reputation
Judge rejects South Royalton man’s motion to withdraw guilty plea in wife’s murder
Nonprofit, developer in settlement talks over Lebanon golf course
Former Listen director pleads guilty to fraud

Number of voters: 141

Number on checklist: 1,133

Moderator: Israel Provoncha

Selectboard: Michael McPhetres

Lister: vacant

Auditor: Linda Hoyt

Cemetery Commissioner: Dennis Cilley

Trustee of Public Funds: Matt Frost

Library Trustee: Michael Krathamer

Library Trustee: Cheryl Metcalf

Collector of Delinquent Taxes: Joseph Paquin

First Constable: vacant

Second Constable: vacant

Town Grand Juror: vacant