Town Meeting: Sunapee rejects full-time fire chief, recreation director

Published: 03-17-2023 11:43 PM

SUNAPEE — Residents voted against making the town’s fire chief and recreation director full-time positions.

The fire chief vote failed by 334 to 455, and the recreation director 377 to 417. Voters also declined, at the Selectboard’s recommendation, to pay for more hours to staff the fire department. They rejected two articles to add more money to two capital reserve funds: one for a fire apparatus and equipment and another for highway garage infrastructure improvements. 

Among the articles voters passed were the selection process of a municipal flag, a $9.5 million town budget and a $2.1 million bond for the first phase of the installation of new water mains. 

On the school side, Amanda Spears and Edward Andersen were elected to two, three-year terms on the School Board. Spears (518 votes) and Andersen (436 votes) bested Laura Piazza Herd (323 votes). 

Voters also approved the $14.1 million school budget; $25,000 for upgrading HVAC systems at Sunapee Middle High School; $75,000 for fields, playgrounds and parking improvements at school facilities; and $75,000 for upgrading educational spaces at Sunapee Central Elementary School.

Elected officials:

Number of voters: 804

Number on checklist: 2,916

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Kenyon: By charging for after school program, CCBA loses sight of its mission
Hartford parts with state champion girls hockey coach
Bookstock literary festival grew too big to manage
Hartford High students walk out in support of Palestinians
Police: Vermont man arrested for stealing gas in Newport to refuel stolen vehicle
Over Easy: Baby crazy in West Lebanon

Selectboard: Sue Gottling

Town Clerk/Tax Collector: Joshua Boone

Treasurer: Sue Fernald

Cemetery Commissioner: vacant

Library Trustee: James McGraw

Library Trustee: Susan Newman Johanson

Trustee of Trust Fund: Lynn Arnold

Planning Board (two years): Gregory Swick

Planning Board (three years): Peter John White

Planning Board (three years): Joseph Butler

Water and Sewer Commissioner: Jimmy Williams

Water and Sewer Commissioner: Wayne Stoddard

Zoning Board: Jeff Claus

School Board: Edward Anderson

School Board: Amanda Spears

School Clerk: Jennifer Correa

School Moderator: vacant

School Treasurer: Brian Garland