High School Notebook: All-Star Season Is Here

Valley News Sports Editor
Published: 6/23/2016 11:59:31 PM
Modified: 6/23/2016 11:59:39 PM

Summer all-star season kicked off with the Twin State Baseball Classic at Lyndon State College last weekend. It gets hot and heavy with three games this weekend.

The Twin State’s senior field hockey stars hit the turf at Castleton University’s Spartan Stadium on Friday night for the Twin State Field Hockey Classic. Game time on the turf is 7 p.m.

Two-time New Hampshire Division II state champion Lebanon is providing two players in Elle Brine and Kendra MacDonald, key members of an attack that returned the title to the Raiders last fall. Hartford’s Morgan Horne and Megan Newton were named to the Vermont roster in November; Newton recently indicated she wouldn’t be able to play in Friday’s contest.

The Byrne Cup All-Star Lacrosse games return to Hanover High’s Merriman-Branch Field on Saturday afternoon, with the girls playing at 12:30 p.m. and the boys following at 3 p.m. Local participation is somewhat limited this time around, with Hanover (defensemen Tristan Gosselin and Kaleb Hunt), Hartford (Amanda Locke) and Woodstock (Abby and Lauren Kaija) combining on just five selections.

Organizer Star Johnson has turned the day into something of a lacrosse festival, inserting a free youth clinic run by the Dartmouth College men’s lacrosse team in the middle of the day. The clinic is open to boys entering grades 3-8 and will run from 1-2:30 p.m. Contact Johnson at 603-381-8603 for more information or to register.

While lacrosse takes over Hanover, hockey will settle down in Burlington for the annual Make-a-Wish Classic at Gutterson Field House. As usual, the girls start the doubleheader at 4 p.m., followed by the boys at 6:30 p.m.

Seven-time defending NHIAA Division I champion Hanover is sending five players to UVM in Eliza Laycock, Matti Hartman, Ella Williams, Kelly Brigham and Julie Montgomery, while Hartford High’s Amanda Nelson and Megan Hayes — who played all four years of prep hockey at Stowe’s North American Hockey Academy — will suit up for Vermont.

Woodstock’s Braden McCarthy and Hartford’s Nate Lemieux will play in the boys game for Vermont; Lebanon High coach Gary Smith will assist on the New Hampshire bench, although no area players from the Granite State made the roster.

Newport High is providing a pair of players, Noah Wade and C.J. Lawrence, to this evening’s CHaD N.H. East-West Football Game at Saint Anselm College. The Tigers’ 1-2 backfield tandem from last fall’s NHIAA D-III champions will line up for West coach Paul Lavigne in the 5:30 p.m. contest.

All Sorts of All-Stars: The Sunapee High softball team dominated the top awards from the New Hampshire Softball Coaches Association.

Junior pitcher Katie Frederick nabbed the Division IV player of the year award, while Bonnie Cruz, the Lakers’ coach, earned the coach of the year award. Frederick dominated in the circle all spring during Sunapee’s state championship run, while Cruz guided the Lakers to their second straight state title, this time in undefeated fashion.

Spring all-league, all-state and all-everything else lists have been filling the mailbox lately, so let’s get to the honors:


N.H. All-State

Hanover (Division I): George Geraghty (attack, second team); Reed Winter (midfield, second team); Tristan Gosselin (defense, second team);

Lebanon (Division III): Nate Damren (attack, second team); Jordan Hammond (midfield; second team); Benjamin Gerow (defense, second team). Lebanon’s Rex Atwood was voted the state’s assistant coach of the year.


N.H. All-State

Hanover (Division II): Molly Seibel (attack, first team; also one of eight New Hampshire All-Americans); Maddie Lyons (midfield, first team); Johanna Copeland (midfield, first team); Mahler Meyerrose (defense, first team); Annika Cole (defense, second team).

Lebanon (Division III): Elle Brine (midfield, second team); Kendra MacDonald (midfield, second team).


N.H. All-State

Newport (Division III): Samantha McNeel (outfield, first team); Stephanie Carl (pitcher, honorable mention); Emma Carroll (infield/outfield, honorable mention).

Sunapee (Division IV): Katie Frederick (pitcher/infield, first team, player of the year); Faith Larpenter (second team); Lexie Hamilton (second team); Meghan Frederick (second team). Bonnie Cruz chosen coach of the year.

Woodsville (Division IV): Nikita Duling (first team); Tori Clough (first team); Alyssa Prest (second team).

All-Central Vermont League

South Royalton: Rachel Moore (pitcher/shortstop, first team); Summer Spaulding (catcher, second team); Grace Pease (shortstop/outfield, second team).

Whitcomb-Rochester: Lindsey LaPerle (shortstop/catcher, first team); Shannon Ludwig (center field, first team); Michaela Sterling (shortstop/catcher, second team).


All-Central Vermont League

Rivendell: Dashiel Fukushima (shortstop/pitcher, first team).

South Royalton: Josh Scoskie (pitcher/third base, first team); Dominick Small (first base/pitcher, second team).

Whitcomb-Rochester: Matt Townsend (pitcher, first team); Zak Gillette (first base, second team).

Bits-n-Pieces: Fresh from its run to the inaugural Vermont Division III state title game, the Hartford High boys lacrosse team sent Nate Lemieux, Jason Bielecki and Justin Pero to the Vermont Boys Senior Lacrosse Showcase at Middlebury Union High School on June 12. Woodstock contributed Austin Waterman, Coleman McKaig and Jackson Wood. … Hartford has hired Ryan Hoisington to take the Hurricanes’ bowling program into the varsity era. The Vermont Principals Association approved the sport for full varsity status earlier in the year after several seasons of club-level operation. Former Hartford coach Mark Hamilton is remaining involved in the management of the sport at the state level. … Hartford’s Bryce Landon and Oxbow’s Jake Senecal were both recognized with scholar-athlete finalist awards during the National Football Foundation Vermont chapter’s postseason dinner at Castleton University last month. The two were among 26 players selected for being the top academic representatives from their programs, six of whom received $500 scholarships from the chapter. … Mike Ivanoski will be back on the Hanover High football sideline next fall. Pending the approval of the Dresden School Board, Ivanoski will rejoin the Marauders as coach Sam Cavallaro’s defensive coordinator. Ivanoski stepped down as head coach in 2014 following a 20-year run that included a 105-87 record, five NHIAA state finals and three state championships. … Lebanon’s Caleb Broughton and Nate Perkins joined Hanover’s Will Smith at Saint Anselm College on Saturday for the New Hampshire High School Baseball Coaches Association’s Underwood Game, a showcase for high school juniors. The nine-inning contest featured 40 athletes from around the state and was scheduled to be visited by a number of college coaches and pro scouts.

Greg Fennell can be reached at gfennell@vnews.com or 603-727-3226.

Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2021 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy