The Valley News has been selected to add two journalists — a photojournalist and a climate and environment reporter — to our newsroom through Report for America, a national service program that boosts local news by harnessing community support.

Please consider donating to this effort.

Hartford voters favor most candidates in progressive slate

  • As Hartford selectboard candidate Jeff Arnold greets voters arriving at the polls, fellow candidate Ally Tufenkjian helps Peggy Richardson settle in after Richardson arrived at the polls to campaign at Hartford High School on Tuesday, March 2, 2021, in White River Junction, Vt. ( Valley News - Jennifer Hauck) Copyright Valley News. May not be reprinted or used online without permission. Send requests to Jennifer Hauck

Valley News Staff Writer
Published: 3/2/2021 9:45:20 PM
Modified: 3/2/2021 10:15:46 PM

HARTFORD — Hartford voters elected most of the progressive slate of candidates who were vying for several Selectboard seats during Town Meeting on Tuesday. 

Voters also approved a $17.4 million operating budget in a 1,599-330 vote, according to unofficial results. 

Selectboard Chairman Dan Fraser won re-election to a three-year seat with 1,249 votes, beating out former board member Sandra Mariotti (474) and Remington Nevin (235).

Fraser ran as a slate with a group of progressive candidates for the four other open seats, including Rachel Edens, Julia Dalphin, John Hall and Ally Tufenkjian. 

Edens (921 votes) won her race for an open two-year seat against Lannie Collins (695) and Jeff Arnold (316). 

“I’m honored and humbled to be chosen to serve the town again,” Edens said in an interview following the results. “As a resident of Hartford I’m very encouraged by the election results and what they say about the direction Hartford residents want to go in.”

Voters also elected Dalphin for the remaining two years of a three-year seat that was left empty when a board member stepped down in January. Dalphin (765) beat out Tony Gove (641) and Michael Hoyt (519). 

For the final open spots, voters elected Dennis Brown, a former board member who got 849 votes, and Tufenkjian (905) to each serve the remaining one year of two three-year seats. They were chosen out of a pool of candidates that included Hall, who was the one member of the progressive slate to fall short (717 votes); Brett Mayfield (473); Jeff Arnold, who ran for two seats (355); and Wayne Kendall (297).

In an interview Tuesday evening Brown said he was happy about the results and that it was a “tough race.”

Voters also elected Emily Clough over Gayle Ottmann for the position of West Hartford Library Trustee.

On the school side, they approved a $41 million budget in a 1,537-317 vote.

Anna Merriman can be reached at or 603-727-3216.

Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2021 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy