Town Meeting: Incumbents prevail in Hartford Selectboard race

Published: 03-10-2023 11:13 PM

HARTFORD — In ballot voting on Tuesday, both incumbent Selectboard members beat off challengers to retain seats on the board and Hartford voters approved school and municipal spending proposals.

In a 861-718 vote, Lannie Collins bested Janelle Sahutski for a two-year term on the board.

Meanwhile, Michael Hoyt easily earned three more years on the board in a vote of 918-603 over Patrick Francis Danaher.

On the school side, Douglas H. Heavisides Sr. and Kevin “Coach” Christie earned uncontested seats on the School Board. Heavisides’ term is two years and Christie’s is three.

In other ballot voting, Hartford voters resoundingly, 1,187-409, approved a school operating budget of $47.6 million, which is an increase of about $3.9 million. The budget is expected to result in an estimated 7.5% increase in the school portion of the property tax rate, which is about $372 annually on a property valued at $300,000. 

In a 1,267-383 vote, Hartford also approved a municipal operating budget of $19 million, of which $15.1 million is slated to come from taxes. That marks an increase from last year’s $18.25 million budget, of which $14.56 million came from taxes. 

Separately, in a 1,451-216 vote, Hartford approved an article authorizing the $332,710 operating budget of the town’s libraries through a local option tax.

Elected officials

Number of voters: 1,699

Article continues after...

Yesterday's Most Read Articles

Number on checklist: 9,288

Town Moderator: Chuck Wooster

Treasurer: Joe Major

Selectboard (2 years): Lannie Collins

Selectboard (3 years): Michael Hoyt

Library Trustee (5 years): Laura Renee Brooks

Library Trustee (4 years): Patricia Newton Gray

School Moderator: Chuck Wooster

School Director (2 years): Douglas Heavisides Sr.

School Director (3 years): Kevin "Coach" Christie