Darrow Wins Grafton Selectboard Seat

Published: 3/13/2018 10:20:52 PM
Modified: 3/14/2018 4:13:31 PM

Grafton — Grafton voters approved a $1.1 million operating budget, but decided to keep their road agent as an elected, rather than appointed, position. 

A petitioned article that sought to make the road agent post (currently held by Robert Bassett) a Selectboard appointee was rejected 156-121.

The budget, which is up $8,647 over last year and includes a new full-time police officer,  was approved 144-113.

Voters approved a variety of capital reserve expenditures, including $35,000 for the highway department and $30,000 for a bridge fund, but rejected adding $25,000 to the Library Capital Reserve Fund on a vote of 160-112. Voters also rejected capital reserve funding for a roll-off truck, and a storage vault. 

Steve Darrow's 148 votes were enough to win a three-year seat on the Selectboard over Maureen O'Reilly (57 votes), Dennis McKean (39 votes) and Albert Bassett (30 votes).

Dorothy Campbell handily won a treasurer post over Margaret Emslie on a 209-54 vote, while Pamela Curran defeated Brian Fellers for a seat on the budget committee,176-85. Fellers and Frank Neufell both won three-year seats on the Planning Board.

Deborah Black beat Catherine Mulholland for a term as supervisor of the checklist, and Daniel Moore won a trustee of trust funds position over Brenda Walker.


Brian Fellers, with 92 vo tes, and Frank Neufell, 170, were both elected to three-year seats on the Grafton Planning Board in Town Meeting Day ballot voting. An earlier version of this story incorrectly described how Fellers fared.



Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2021 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy