The Valley News has been selected to add two journalists — a photojournalist and a climate and environment reporter — to our newsroom through Report for America, a national service program that boosts local news by harnessing community support.

Please consider donating to this effort.

College Student Among Winners of Grafton County House Seats

  • Caroline Collison of Hanover, N.H., at center, shows a photo of herself in a Halloween costume to a fellow volunteer on Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018 at the Kilton Public Library in West Lebanon, N.H.(Valley News - Rick Russell) Copyright Valley News. May not be reprinted or used online without permission. Send requests to

  • Raul Cervantes of Lebanon, N.H. left, and Lee Hammond talk about the migrant caravan making its way through Mexico to the United States southern border, while standing in front of City Hall on Tuesday, Nov. 6, 2018, in Lebanon, N.H. Cervantes legally immigrated from Mexico in 2011, a process that took him twelve years, and was upset that illegal migrants are trying to take unfair advantage of the legal system.(Valley News - Rick Russell) Copyright Valley News. May not be reprinted or used online without permission. Send requests to

Valley News Staff Writer
Published: 11/7/2018 1:21:17 AM
Modified: 11/7/2018 1:21:18 AM

Lebanon — Voters in Hanover and Lyme elected a 20-year-old Dartmouth College student on Tuesday to the New Hampshire House in one of several races that could determine Democrats’ hold on Grafton County.

Garrett Muscatel, who grew up in a suburb west of Los Angeles, received 5,582 votes to defeat fellow Dartmouth student Baronet “Web” Harrington, a Republican who won 1,152 votes in the two towns.

Muscatel will join three Democratic incumbents representing Hanover and Lyme in the Legislature. State Rep. Sharon Nordgren received 5,712 votes, while fellow lawmakers Polly Campion won 5,699 and Mary Jane Mulligan garnered 5,155.

Neighboring Lebanon also chose to send four Democrats to represent the city in Concord, including three incumbents.

Former Dartmouth administrator Laurel Stavis won 4,292 votes and will join state Reps. George Sykes (4,298 votes), Susan Almy (4,395 votes) and Richard Abel (4,174 votes) in the House.

They defeated Republican Michael Balog, a retired Connecticut police officer, who won 1,630 votes in the city’s three wards.

Rep. Roger Dontonville, D-Enfield, also won re-election to his Grafton 10 seat, which represents Enfield. He ran unopposed and totaled 1,420 votes.

And in the Grafton 11 district, Rep. Timothy Josephson, D-Canaan, won re-election against Dorchester Republican Roy Russell.

Josephson won 1,042 votes, and Russell totaled 927 in the district, which represents Canaan, Dorchester and Wentworth.

However, final results from several House races were unclear on Tuesday night.

In partial results, state Rep. Stephen Darrow, R-Grafton, was trailing Democrat Joshua Adjutant, of Ashland, in Grafton 17, which represents Enfield, Grafton, Alexandria, Ashland, Bridgewater and Bristol.

With two-thirds of towns reporting, Adjutant had 54 percent of the vote, while Darrow stood at 45 percent, according to a count by the Associated Press.

Voters also appeared to choose two Republicans to represent Grafton 9, a two-seat district that includes the towns of Grafton, Alexandria, Bristol, Ashland and Bridgewater. Retired judge Ned Gordon, a Republican from Bristol, was leading with 32 percent of the vote, followed by Rep. Vincent Paul Migliore, R-Bridgewater, who received 24 percent, according to the AP. Vote totals were missing from Alexandria and Bridgewater.

Former Rep. Catherine Mulholland, D-Grafton, garnered 23 percent of the vote, followed by fellow Democrat Tejasinha Sivalingam, who received 15 percent.

Grafton Libertarians John and Rosalie Babiarz totaled more than 2 percent each.

Rumney Democrat Francesca Diggs was leading a race against Republican Linda Luhtala, a fellow Rumney resident, for the Grafton 16 district, which covers the towns of Canaan, Dorchester, Ellsworth, Rumney, Orange, Thornton, Wentworth and Groton.

Diggs had nearly 53 percent of votes compared with Luhtala’s 47 percent, with results from Groton yet to be reported.

The Haverhill area also saw two contested races for House seats. Recent Woodsville High School graduate Denny Ruprecht, a Democrat, was leading in a race against Piermont Republican Rebecca Bailey for a seat representing Grafton 15. The floterial district represents the towns of Haverhill, Orford, Piermont, Bath, Benton, Easton and Warren. With half of those towns reporting, Ruprecht had 54 percent of the vote, while Bailey had 45 percent.

And in Grafton 15, former Democratic Rep. Sue Ford, of Easton, was leading Warren Republican Ben Hight.

Ford had 53 percent of the vote, while Hight had 46 percent, with about 60 percent of towns reporting.

The district covers Orford, Piermont, Bath, Benton, Easton, Landaff and Warren.

In the Grafton 4 House district, which represents Haverhill, Republican Rep. Rick Ladd ran unopposed for a sixth term.

Tim Camerato can be reached at or 603-727-3223.

Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2020 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy