The Valley News has been selected to add two journalists — a photojournalist and a climate and environment reporter — to our newsroom through Report for America, a national service program that boosts local news by harnessing community support.

Please consider donating to this effort.

Dartmouth College trustees name new chair

  • Elizabeth Cahill Lempres (Courtesy photograph)

Valley News Staff Writer
Published: 4/6/2021 5:55:28 PM
Modified: 4/6/2021 9:49:35 PM

HANOVER — Dartmouth College trustees have chosen as their next chair a graduate who arrived in Hanover as a first-generation college student who rose to become a senior partner at McKinsey & Co., the global management consultancy.

Elizabeth Cahill Lempres, who graduated from Dartmouth in 1983 and from the Thayer School of Engineering in 1984, will take over leadership of the college’s board on June 14 from Laurel Richie, who has been chair since 2017, the college announced recently.

“The board’s strategic priorities of ensuring preeminence in a rapidly changing landscape, building a more diverse and inclusive community, and increasing engagement with the graduate schools will remain core to our agenda,” Lempres said in the news release.

“On a personal note, it’s a privilege to serve Dartmouth in this way,” she said. “I arrived in Hanover a first-generation college student and a beneficiary of the College’s commitment to need-blind admissions. Dartmouth both challenged and gave me the confidence to embrace bolder aspirations. I will be forever grateful.”

Lempres, who lives in Boston, has been a member of the Thayer School’s board of advisers since 2012 and has served as an alumni trustee since 2018.

Also joining the Dartmouth board are:

Neal Katyal, Class of 1991, a former acting solicitor general of the United States and now a prominent lawyer in private practice; Joyce Sackey, Class of 1985 and a graduate of what was then called Dartmouth Medical School, who is now associate provost and chief diversity officer at Tufts University’s Health Sciences Schools and dean for multicultural affairs and global health at Tufts University School of Medicine; and Scott Stuart, Class of 1981, a co-founder of Sageview Capital which invests in and advises technology companies.

Leaving the board in June, along with Richie, will be trustees Emily Bakemeier and Mitchell Kurz, both of whom have served two terms.

Alex Hanson can be reached at or 603-727-3207.

Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2020 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy