School Notes: Students Earn National Merit Scholarships

Valley News Staff Writer
Published: 7/17/2017 10:00:13 PM

Hanover High School graduates Sarah Lightbody and Sadhya Garg and Sharon Academy graduate Taite Clark recently received National Merit Scholarships of between $500 and $2,000 from the colleges they will attend in the fall.

Lightbody will pursue fashion merchandising at Scripps College in Claremont, Calif., and Garg will study journalism at Tufts University in Medford, Mass. Meanwhile, Clark will major in engineering at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute in upstate New York.

Lightbody and Garg are among five New Hampshire residents and Clark is one of two Vermonters who emerged from among more than 1.5 million high school juniors nationwide who took the preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as juniors in the fall of 2015.

Collegiate Honors

Keene State College named 45 Upper Valley residents to its dean’s list for the spring 2017 semester. By hometown, they are:

Lebanon — Alison Dowd, Emily Godfrey, Robert Peterson, Manjot Singh, Bryanna Weigel, Samuel Whitaker, Margaret Zuttermeister

Hanover — Vincent Moore, Jordan Toland

Hartford — Chelsea Birchmore

Enfield — James Caron, Catie Mylott, Carissa Stevens

Canaan — Colin Acker, Kendra Stone

Meriden — Maddison Ouellette

Woodstock — Elyria Gordon-Wylie, Ezra Richardson

Windsor — Adam LaFlam, Tyler Vu

Haverhill — Michael Lamarre, Lottie Page

Claremont — Katelyn Belaire, Corrie Holtz, Erica Pritchett, Nikki Root, Hans Schneider

Grantham — Natalie Cartier, Joseph Lendaro

Croydon — Morgan Cantlin

Newport — Melissa Gyba, Sarah Kober

NewLondon — Andrew Arnold, Cynthia Clausen, Mary Dubie, Tyler Gooding, Gillian Shannon

Springfield, N.H. — Avery Ruggles

Charlestown — Kirsten Becker, Caitlin Cavanaugh, Daniel Keady, Jonathan Sabol, Katherine Scott, Tyler St. Aubin

Springfield, Vt. — Perrin Burge

Upper Valley students were named to the dean’s list at the Rochester (N.Y.) Institute of Technology for their academic performance during the spring 2017 semester.

Making the grade, by hometown, were the following:

Lebanon — Stasha Blank (game design and development) and Nate Herndon (industrial design)

Lyme — Leon Kuhne (software engineering)

Hartford — Inderjit Singh (computer engineering); James Abrams (film and animation); Christine MIller (film and animation)

Thetford — Zachary Lichvar (computing and information technologies)

Fairlee — Aquene Sausville (psychology)

Piermont — Daniel Jones (software engineering)

Sunapee — Conor McKee (applied mathematics)

Claremont — Joshua Strobel (environmental science)


Colby-Sawyer College students from the Upper Valley recently completed their internship requirements with work at Congressional offices and other public-service and professional sites.

With supervision from Colby-Sawyer College faculty, staff and work site professionals, Omar Hajajra, of Plainfield, worked in the Washington office of U.S. Senator Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH).

Mariana Marcano, of New London, worked in the Live Well/Work Well at Dartmouth-Hitchcock in Lebanon.

Colleen Clausen, of New London, worked for the Lake Sunapee Protective Association in New London.

Lydia Schoonmaker, of New London, interned at Colby-Sawyer’s office of communications.

Katherine Cottrill, of New London, worked at Abbott Library in Sunapee.

Kori Jevsevar, of Grantham, served at the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College.

Andrew Haase, of Grantham, worked in the athletic department’s strength and conditioning team at Dartmouth College.

Kaytlynn Kenney, of Newport, interned at Nourish Holistic Health & Nutrition in New London.

Christopher Peirce, of Georges Mills, worked behind the scenes at Northern Stage in White River Junction.

Douglas Avellino, of Woodstock, worked at Woodstock Country Club.

David Corriveau can be reached at and at 603-727-3304. Education-related news and notes also can be sent to

Valley News

24 Interchange Drive
West Lebanon, NH 03784


© 2019 Valley News
Terms & Conditions - Privacy Policy